EMA Indoor Championships in Madrid

If you have entered or are travelling to the above you may find information on the EMA website www.european-masters-athletics.org from EMA Team Leader Manager, Kalle Glomsaker, very useful.

Angela Copson who has just won European Best Masters Athlete of the Year Award, will receive her Trophy during the Opening Ceremony on Sunday 18 March at 19:15, in the Centro Desportivo Municipal Gallur. Be there if you can to cheer her.

World Masters Athletics should announce imminently their Awards. They changed their criteria this year. Our Statistician, Brian Owen, burned the midnight oil going through the 2017 Results working out our best in their discipline whose performances met the criteria, Age Grading etc. Here they are:

Guy Bracken (NEMAA), whose M55 Indoor 1500m winning time 4.17.19sec in Daegu equates to Age Related 3.34.4 and his European title in Aarhus 4.22.28sec = 3.38.7sec.

Carole Filer (EMAC), who many people feel should have won the WMA title years ago. Her W60 high jump in Daegu 1.38 equates to 1.9m, Pentathlon 4112pts and her long jump in Aarhus 4.57 = 6.58m, Heptathlon 5657pts.

Jane Horder (SWVAC), W60 60mH in Daegu  9.90sec = 7.59sec and her European title 80mH in Aarhus in 12.90 = 12.81sec.

John Nicholls (NMAC), whose M50 Indoor Shot in Daegu 15.36m equates to 18.22m and 15.53 in Aarhus = 18.42m.

Tamunonengiye Ossai, (SCVAC), M40 60m 7.01sec in Daegu = 6.71sec, 200m in Aarhus in 22.27sec = 21.24sec.

Stephen Peters (NMAC), arguably the best Masters sprinter of all time, has been nominated for the World Overall Best Masters Athlete Award. He did not run in Daegu but his three M60 European individual titles and haul of five Championship gold medals again, running the 100m in 12.30sec that equals to 10.35sec, 200m in 24.74sec equivalent to Age Graded  20.62sec(!) and the 400m in 56.47sec =  46.05sec. must surely make him one of the favourites.

Louise Rudd. (NMAC), World W40 Indoor 1500m title in 4.39.35 = 4.24.2sec and her 2.16.68sec 800m in Aarhus =  2.10.4sec.

Congratulations to you all and thank you to Brian Owen.

Bridget Cushen

February 2018

By admin